8 Comments

My 3-year goal:

Write and publish short stories

My 6-month focus:

Read and write short stories; Publishing on Amazon and Medium; Enter and win short story contests; Learn more about publishing.

Learn over the next 6-months:

How to publish short stories on Amazon; How to enter writing contests; Improve show v. tell

6-month to-do list:

Read and write more short stories; attend workshops; enter writing contests; study how to show v. tell; develop a formula for writing short stories

Reading list:

Save the Cat by: Blake Snyder (story structure)

Zen in the Art of Writing by: Ray Bradbury

Story Genius by: Lisa Cron (make a connection with the reader)

Write to Market by: Chris Fox

How to Write a Short Story by: Joe Bunting (good concise guide)

Ninja Writers resources:

Fiction Workshop Tuesdays 4-6pm Mountain Time

Writing buddy

Facebook Group

Ninja Writers Pub on Medium

Other resources:

Grammarly

Wings Short Story Group

Show my work:

Write and submit two short stories per month to Ninja Writers Pub on Medium

Read one short story every day focusing on how the author uses show v. tell

Publish a short story on Amazon by Nov.1

Enter a writing contest by Nov1

Continue publishing on Amazon and entering contests as much as possible Nov-Feb

Develop a formula for writing short stories by Oct. 1

Expand full comment

1000 Day MFA: 6-Month Plan

My 3-Year Goal

This is the focus of your 1000 Day MFA:

Be Expert in Writing & Publishing My E Books

My 6-Month Focus

This is what I need to work on in the next six months:

Develop my Mailing List, Link with Website, Continue to write my Blog Posts for Publication

What I Need to Learn in the Next 6 Months

These are my top writing priorities right now:

Daily Writing for Blog Posts and Future E-Books

Write Memoir for my Son and any other interested parties. Lots of subjects for Short Stories

Learn E-Book Publishing

This is my to-do list for the next 6 months:

Write and Edit Blog Posts Daily Monetize my List for Newsletter After 1,000 subscribers.

Write Short Stories 74 Years of Material Learn Substack

Leverage my Website to Grow my List

Read for Enjoyment and Education

Start a Newsletter about Humor Healing Cancer

Resources

Reading List

Title Author Annotation

Bird by Bird Anne Lamont Enjoyable Read So Far

How to Publish A Book on Amazon Sam Kerns Haven’t read it yet. In my Library for Reference

Bradbury Stories Ray Bradbury Just Started. Reading for Enjoyment and Style

The Writer’s Journey Christopher Vogler I have just glimpsed at this. I will have to spend more time reading.

Blogging for Beginners Brian Wood The Title Tells it All

How to Write a Short Story Joe Bunting Good Concise Guide

Ninja Writers Resources

These are the Ninja Writers resources that will bring me toward my top priorities:

Resource Date and Time

Start participating in Webinars

Other Resources

Resource How and Why

Grammarly Helps me edit my writing.

Ulyses Helpful writing tool for organizing my writing

Showing My Work

This is the work I’ll produce in the next 6 months:

What I’ll Do When I’ll Do It

Six months of Blog Posts Daily

Begin a Short Story Now

Expand full comment

I printed out this document and it's going in my 3 ring binder. Having this structure is fabulous. I need structure. Looking forward to the development this journey will bring to me as a writer.

Expand full comment

You. I found this book helpful and direct. I have been applying what I have read in this book to short stories that I have been reeding and noticed the parallel of what he writes to what i am reeding.

Expand full comment

This is the link for my Google Doc of my Learning Plan: https://docs.google.com/document/d/11tYFiYzc6xCeyHK-9dz18PQjOrQrmC9IdwZUzHiTcJk/edit#

I don't think anyone wants to read that though, so this is the short version:'

My focus is fiction. I want to publish a book a year. In the next 6 months, I will edit my WIP and outline my next one, a historical fiction, while finding an agent for my WIP. I have a list of 12 books I need to read. I need to keep working with the Ninja Writer's Self-Editing workshop.

Expand full comment

I have not fully completed my final Learning Plan because that is a much longer process that I want to take my time to work on this weekend, however, here is part of it:

My 3-year goal:

I would like to be a working poet (still also working a full-time 9-5 job), on a poetry tour, hosting events at various venues like wineries, wine bars, women's book clubs, community centers, and conferences. I want to be known for my nonfiction writing, blog, and podcast focusing on the 40 and over lifestyle

My 6-month goal:

I would like to be a consistent blogger and a published author (with at least one to two published books)

Expand full comment