7 Comments

Flash fiction/short fiction, each chapter is a story.

Expand full comment

Trying again - with bullet points!

This post really helped kick-start my creative juices and i dove into my dabble project and drafted up some bullet points for the table of contents with potential various mini-themes and subheadings - this is totally a work in progress and just hot of the press, so will likely change dramatically but really loved writing the ideas down, was smiling the whole way through.

For my particular project, I'm taking the JK Rowling adage at this point of purely writing to amuse myself first. I'm basically getting to live my London dream life vicariously through my character - yay!

Today's work also helped me re-work and narrow the Title/Subheading/Scope: It's currently at: "31 Imaginary Days in London - A Fact-Based, yet Fully Fictional, London Diary. And here are the drafted section ideas so far! Wow, v scary to share "out loud." :)

Admiring and Consuming Food in London

       *****Peggy Porschen’s

Pretending to Be Rich in London

       *****Mayfair

       *****The Ritz

Finding Fictional True Love in London

       *****William Thacker

       *****Mark Darcy

       *****Alan Davies’s character on The Brief

       *****Hugh Grant’s character in Four Weddings & a Funeral

Pretending One Lives in TV, Books, & Films Set in London

       *****Hampstead Heath scene in Notting Hill

       *****Watching Mark Darcy at work in the Supreme Court

       *****Running into Mark Darcy’s open arms on Primrose Hill

       *****Travelling Up & Down the Canals with Kevin Shelley on Travels by Narrowboat, Season 7

       *****Meeting Bill Bryson whilst he’s taking Notes for a sequel to Notes from a Small Island

       *****Attending the Wedding of Ross & Emily and Yelling, “NO! STOP!!”

Lunching with Famous Londoners, both Real and Fictional

       *****The Grand Opening of Colin Firth’s Childhood Friend’s New Restaurant

       *****Lunch with Harry Potter and Bridget Jones

      ***** Lunch with Helen Fielding and Helene Hanff, Duchess of Bloomsbury

Following One’s Dreams in London

       *****A Book Reading and Signing at Waterstones, Piccadilly

       *****Walking the Leicester Square Red Carpet with Helen Fielding

       *****Collaborating with Helen Fielding, Emma Thompson, and Richard Curtis on the Adaptation of One’s Novel into a Screenplay

       *****Receiving an Honorary Degree from One’s Alma Mater in London

Expand full comment

I've come up with the following five primary sections to organize what will be a "Quick Start" guide for accessible online education:

❂ Accessibility Fundamentals - an explanation of what digital accessibility means

❂ What to look for when testing for accessibility - specific criteria across different document formats

❂ How to test for accessibility - keyboard, screenreader, automatedl, Section 508, WCAG

❂ Disability Etiquette - how to not define people by their disability

❂ Accessibility Challenges to readers for Empathy and Awareness

Expand full comment

I've brainstormed 29 'chapters' (each roughly corresponding to a blog post I hope) - just need the elusive remaining two! What's emerging seems to be three sections - Before, During and After - so I'm going to see if I can group the chapters I have into those sections and I think this will also help me organise my thoughts a little better.

So it will be 31 ways to improve your written communications - what you can do before you 'put pen to paper', what you can do during implementation, and what you can do after with the goal overall of improving. I will also have an opening chapter along the lines of what does it mean to 'improve' your comms which will sort of set the scene.

Expand full comment

hi! I'm writing about women artists -- 31 artists no one told you about but should have. I'm a visual artist and I teach art history, and I'm constantly amazed at the breadth, diversity, and sophistication of the work I keep discovering.

I also plan to include my own illustrations -- most likely portraits of them, or sketches of their work.

Here are sections I'm thinking of -- not necessarily in order. I thought I would just do a great big list, 1 to 31, but thinking of sections really helps me organize it. It's in progress -- I'd love any feedback you have!

- introduction : the why and the how (wanting to see more than the usual list of women artists)

- resources & points of reference : where to learn more

- styles and media

- lessons from their lives (struggles/determination/situational/inspirational)

- lessons from their work (formal issues)

- where to find their work

- contemporary women artists (whom I know personally) -- maybe

- regions of the world? (might be too linear/limiting)

Thanks and good luck all!

Expand full comment

I've come up with an idea to write a book on common courtesy. I see so many posts on social media about people being rude that I thought a book addressing 31 rules of common courtesy would be appealing. I'd do each with a personal spin as my mother was a "Miss Manners" of sorts. I'm considering the title, "Mannerisms: 31 Days to the Art of Common Courtesy."

What do you think?

Expand full comment