186 Comments
author

All the brainstorming happening here is AMAZING! Keep it up!

Expand full comment

I'm planning to do 31 Quick Wins to become less overwhelmed as an entrepreneur. It complements the courses I'm developing and I'll either be able to use it as a Pocket Product or lead magnet when it's done.

Expand full comment

I'm hoping to do a 31 days to reduce plastic and start on a more eco-friendly lifestyle!

Expand full comment

I'm a chef and have been working at a vegetable farm for the past 8 years, trying to get people to eat more vegetables. I am going to write a cooking guide for using fresh produce. I want to divide up the posts by vegetables by season and have a few posts about using equipment and helpful cooking tips.

Expand full comment

I want to blog my own book on the topic of starting a career in writing online. I had a few friends a while back tell me that I should write an eBook on the topic!

Expand full comment

I just started eating a Whole-Food, Plant-Based Diet and chronicling my weight loss. This month will be researching the WFPB Diet and the Engine 2 Diet and building out the structure of those 31 days.

Expand full comment

I was planning on writing about fantasy world building.

Expand full comment

My heart hit a topic, but my head freaked out... 31 questions to ask yourself before taking your life.

My heart is gung ho. I worked as a crisis counselor on the national suicide prevention hotline for a time. While they do the best the can and I'm happy they exist, as an organization it has its limits. I often found myself wanting to ask questions of the callers that I wasn't allowed to, but I felt would be valuable to explore.

My head wants to stop me before I start though, because I know at least some of it will be controversial... But then again I've heard it said that if you aren't pissing at least a few people off, you probably aren't doing anything important... We'll see what I decide.

Expand full comment

We traveled for 3 years with our kids, mostly in Mexico. When the pandemic struck we were surprised how much those years of travel and change and homeschooling and remote work prepared us for living in quarantine and dealing with the current state of affairs.

I was considering making this my focus, 31 ways that full time travel prepared us for the global pandemic. Some of it would be skills, like home schooling and working from home, and some of it is mind set, like the ability to adapt to change and being comfortable with just our family instead of a full community. There is also the aspect of knowing that we can leave the U.S. if conditions here become too unstable (assuming any borders remain open,) the awareness of possibilities beyond what is considered normal life in the U.S.

Would you read this?

Expand full comment

What I would really like to do is blog about mental health and suicide prevention, as I've always wanted to do a book about that ( I have bipolar disorder and have had my own struggles in the past, and was a suicidal teenager and young adult. The suicide rate among young people, particularly teens, has skyrocketed and since I have "been there" and know what it is like to feel that way, I thought I might be able to reach some of those struggling teens. I also have advice from a lifetime of learning how to manage depression and suicidal feelings, which are now mainly a thing of the past, fortunately. I thought I might have some valuable things to say,and I would love to be able to help people who are where I was 20 years ago.)

The only problem is, I don't know if I will have time this challenge. I am also doing my regular writing job, which is about 5 articles a week; I'm working on a nonfiction book I want to finish by October (I'm about a quarter of the way through) and I'm working on short stories and doing the novel workshop, which is also time consuming. (Plus I have other non-writing work related projects) And I have several speaking engagements coming up in August and have to prepare for those.

So I thought I might save that idea and just do a series of poems. I have always wanted to publish a book of poetry and it would be good to get me back in the habit of writing poetry. I haven't written a poem in over 6 months and I can do a poem in an hour every day without much of a problem. A book of poetry would really be nice to do, even though I know I won't make money doing it. That's not really my main priority anyway. Hopefully enough friends and people who know me for my nonfiction will buy it that I will break even from what I spend on the cover. But I just want to do it for the sake of a personal goal.

So I'm a bit torn. I think given all the other work I'm doing I should save the mental health stuff for a future challenge or just do it on my own after I'm done with some of the other projects I'm working on.

Expand full comment

I remember Shaunta saying it's ok to write about something you're learning. I wanted to do 31 Day Organization Challenge and Apply it to myself and use it for my BYOB-

Expand full comment

I have a couple of film-related ideas: the women of sci-fi, what sci-fi taught me, or looking at Generation X films and filmmakers (a "movies that made us" kind of thing). Although I write content for businesses, film is my passion, and I'd like to highlight my film and culture writing. (I've written about Ellen Ripley, Gattaca, Jurassic Park, A Quiet Place...) I feel like I should mention that I was a crime journalist for 10 years and previously wrote an ebook on "The Closer" for HyperInk, which went absolutely nowhere. I've had a slim thread of an idea before about fictional female detectives, and I still enjoy a good thriller, but after writing about real crimes for so long, I like to say I prefer fictional mayhem.

Expand full comment

I have a couple ideas:

1. I will likely do something about the first 31 days of sobriety or the first year of sobriety.

2. My other idea is to do 31 days about deciding to have bariatric surgery and the first year post-surgery.

Expand full comment

I have no idea. My current obsessions are minimalism, poetry, and mental illness. (I have bipolar disorder.) I don't know if I can think of 31 posts about minimalism, but I am interested in exploring how minimalism helps people (me) cope with mental illness. I started writing a memoir about growing up and living with bipolar, but I haven't made a decision about publication, so it might not be the best idea to post on Medium.

Expand full comment

I am hoping to create a mini-book that will tie into a memoir I am writing. My memoir the inspiring of six kids growing up off-grid on an Alaskan homestead—with a seriously mentally ill mother. The focus is on how the relationships of myself and my siblings and our love of nature, created resilience to help us survive and thrive.

It is a hopeful book for our times that celebrates the traits homestead requires. SO- all that said to ask, which would be more interesting to you:

#1. 31 essential steps to self-sufficiency (finding a home, starting a garden, raising animals, water, off-grid, etc.

#2. 31 Pioneer traits of toughness (and how to develop them in your life)

#3. 31 Alaskan stories of bears, berries, and adventure. Growing up on a real homestead.

Thank you for your input.

Expand full comment

So so lost with this. The idea that keeps circling around is "31 Mirrors of Awakening (The world is showing us who we are. Let's do something about it.) Each day would be a short story about that happening.

One example is my having said to my wife, "I can't believe 'they'--you know, the people over there on the other side--have just swallowed that point of view whole, without even questioning it!" And then seeing on one of 'their' Facebook pages say the EXACT SAME WORDS about me and my people. Wow. So what to do, when we see how deeply entrenched we are in our beliefs? We could start by seeing them as beliefs. Not as the truth. This gradually gets ideas out of the way so we can experience one another as human beings.

Expand full comment

Seriously have no idea how this is going to work, but I'm going to write 31 pieces of flash fiction all based around a teen spy (I write YA fiction) ... I have 30 of the 31 prompts figured out ... now I'm just trying to stay out of the "this is a dumb idea and totally won't work" part of my brain. LOL!

Expand full comment

I'm very excited about BYOB and have at least two ideas. My first was How to Bring Poetry into your Life. this could include both poetry appreciation and beginning writing suggestions. I would have a lot of fun doing that. AND, I've written a humorous novel with some adorable and quirky characters. Last year wrote three blog posts as if I were my main character and one as if I were his wife. They tend to disagree on just about everything so it's lots of fun. So my latest idea is 31 blog posts as if written by several of my characters...which can include some point-counterpoint back and forth. I got very excited about this one and have an idea list ready to go!!! wanted to share this here as other fiction writers could do this. I haven't patterned it yet. Also, it can be a marketing tool for the book and get readers introduced to and involved with my characters ahead of reading the actual novel. This will also support my website in progress!!! would love any comments folks have about either idea! thanks!

Expand full comment

Originally I was going to blog about my relationship book, but realized that book will probably end up being more than 60,000 words.

This morning I decided to do a scripting prompt challenge to manifest a specific person for the 31 days. I even have the title of this book already. Making good progress.

Expand full comment

I have a couple of ideas--How To Thrive on a Small Farm--31 Ways to Persevere or The Food of My Ancestors--31 Dishes that Mean Home and Family

Expand full comment

I like this idea of tackling one subject for 31 days. I have a binder full of ideas but have never been able to corral my brain long enough to focus on one subject and finish it. I'm more of an idea generator, never-finisher, so this will force me to focus on one thing. In 31 days, I can let my right brain out to run amuck again. Or maybe, this might set me on the path to really learning and establishing the "habit" of writing. and ultimately finishing every single idea in that binder. That would be something!! =)

I have a few ideas that I have too much experience in, but would/could be helpful to others who may be experiencing the same thing.

1. 31 Things to Consider When You're Contemplating Divorce.

2. If you can't leave your difficult relationship, here are 31 ways to deal with staying.

3. When you quit drinking and he won't, 31 ways to deal with that Bull$hit.

Then, I have less traumatic more vanilla ideas:

1. 31 Days of Handmade Gifts to Get a Jumpstart on the Holidays

2. 31 Days to Starting Your Garden. A Complete but Simple Planning Guide.

3. 31 Meditation Prompts for Self Evaluation and Awareness

Would love any feedback to help me decide which would be most relevant and interesting.

Thanks for reading.

Titles aren't set in stone, but you get the gist.

Have a great day everyone!!

Expand full comment

I had thought about doing a series on my journey through depression and anxiety but I'm having second thoughts. I don't want the series to come across as a month-long pity party.

Expand full comment

I am torn. I want to blog about being a queer Jewish convert in exile from the South. Identity, basically. Shaunta has encouraged me that people would find it interesting. I'm not sure. I don't want to be too self-referential.

Expand full comment

I am planning a series of 31 short stories about either music or games. I need to take the next few days to figure out which one looks more promising

Expand full comment

I want to write something about my relationship with my late father. I love him, I miss him, but I don't want to be anything like him. He was a miserable person, but I think I can learn something from his sadness. Thoughts?

Expand full comment
AnonymousJul 6, 2020

I'm currently planning on writing about The Road to Data Driven Decisions. I essentially address the most common hurdles a company faces in its transition to making data driven decisions and how to overcome them.

Expand full comment

I'm a little late to the game, playing catch up. I'm thinking of 31 Reflections on Following Jesus through an Anxiety Disorder. Might be a bit wordy. I'm planning to base it on the book I've been writing for the past 1.5 years, which I'm titling, *Anxious with Jesus.* I'm totally stuck on my book's structure (despite the 100 pages I've written), so I'm hopeful that this BYOB challenge can help me see things from a new angle and get unstuck!

Expand full comment

I'm thinking 31 steps towards contentment. Encompassing looking at various aspects that hold us back, (finance, confidence, self esteem, relationships, health, nutrition, work life balance). But don't want it to be a how to.... more of an exploration of ideas to get people thinking. Not sure if there's already too much of this out there??

Expand full comment

I have only four topics to choose from so far.

Is that enough? <grin>

- the roots of our economic and political systems

- my growth as an emotional person since I was a youth

- a manifesto for a Green World

- Suggestions for how your spiritual path could be very personal, like mine

Expand full comment

my 30-day challenge feeds my 9,000 sq. ft. challenge so the BYOBs will be the JOURNEY from Post-Fire to The Finish Line [whatever the heck that looks like]! thanks ninja warriors for being so inspirational. :-) from my 9,000 LOLs and Happy Monday!

Expand full comment

Hi Everyone! I'm new here and just catching up on all the BYOB emails and posts and instructions. There are so many amazing ideas here and I'm excited to be a part of it! I've had a fictional character called Maddy who has popped up randomly in my free-writes for years now and she writes all these funny little snippets - sort of along the lines of Bridget Jones/Amelia Bedelia - and yes, a little autobiographical if I'm totally honest! And I love her but never knew what to do with her. Then I saw Shaunta's email about BYOB! So here I am! My other great love is London, so I am doing something a little untraditional and combining my love for this fictional character with my Love for the very real places and things in London. The idea is 31 little vignettes of sorts that have Maddy exploring London - she is fictional, but the London facts and information will be totally FACT! So it could be a fun way for people to read about/visit London from their armchairs - and for me to live vicariously through my character. :) I don't know if we're supposed to post our blogs here and I haven't even started anything yet, but I'll go ahead and post my blog in case anyone wants to follow - I'm excited to build a community of writers following their creative dreams! https://annielizabergen.wordpress.com/

Expand full comment

I am currently an out-of-work travel writer so this is my pivot. I am diving into the deep end with my first short novel for Amazon, while writing about the process as I go. I'm not sure if the novel will make it in 31 posts but it's a fun target to aim at. I have found that working on it has inspired a deluge of how-to post ideas for first-timers. The goal is to essentially create two eBooks a few months apart-- the novel and the how-I-did-it. The story is a short beach mystery featuring a kleptomaniac travel writer who gets involved in a murder on an exotic island by stealing the wrong damn thing. The lead is female.

Expand full comment

Anyone willing to chime in, please do. Rate these five titles for me so I can see what resonates. THANK YOU! https://docs.google.com/forms/d/13cmfZS2GwMDXGgWsvuVeTr36n9dApQr-pUU1ZHO93-0/edit

Expand full comment

Playing with two ideas for this:

1. Developing creative and emotional freedom

Or

2. How to come out of hiding

Love to hear your gut reactions on the appeal/intrigue... or maybe you have questions?

Expand full comment

I have seen some many projects go awry, particularly those that non-profits need doing that I've considered the following:

*

31 ways to guide the conversion of manual systems to digital systems

*

31 days to mastering systems engineering for non-profits

*

31 things to do when working with a consultant

*

31 thing to avoid while managing a software project

*

31 systems and tools for making the shift to being a project manager.

*

31 days to a comprehensive understanding of non-profit business

So far I'm leaning toward some modification of the first one.

Expand full comment

I have 2 ideas for #31daysbyob

1: sharing 31 peoples stories calling it er’day peoples

2: introducing my characters and having them tell a little about there lives from my book idea.

3: is a mix of sharing real peoples stories and my characters stories.

Expand full comment

I was thinking of doing something about my time as a high school English teacher. A memoir.

Expand full comment

Wow! There are so many amazing ideas on this thread. I've been struggling with making a final decision for my own BYOB. I think I've landed on it though now.

31 Essays on Loving My Transgender Son

I'm hoping I'll have a very personal story by the end to turn into a nonfiction book. I've written personal stuff before, but I feel like this might be laying it all out there. I hope I can do it.

Expand full comment

I'm struggling to figure out if my idea for a book will work for this format. Before finding this challenge, I was starting to plan out an e-book for those, particularly women, who have gone through a huge life upset, with ideas for how to take control and get through a massive, often upsetting change. I had also planned to do some cartoons for each chapter to bring some humor to the situation. I'm not sure that works with blogging it or not. I'm not even sure if I want to blog the posts before I make the book. I'm torn.

Expand full comment

Came up with several possibilities. And now I'm on the Tech Call with Meg to learn how to create a survey so I can post it to Facebook (and insta?) But here are my possibilites:

1) PRAYERS AND FEVER DREAMS: 31 Poems of Impossible Outcomes to Start Taking Seriously

2) CONFESSIONS OF A FAILING BUDDHIST: 31 Days of Compassion

3) 31 STORIES FROM AN UNTRAINED HEIRESS: Snapshots Through a Child's Eyes--Growing up in a Learjet

4) 31 MOMENTS OF AWAKENING: The World Is Showing Us Who We Are. Now what?

5) "31 DAYS OF RIGHT SPEECH: A Deep Dive Into Listening (What Motivates Us When We Talk?)"

Expand full comment

I've been circling around lots of ideas related to small business processes, editing and proofreading but the one thing I keep coming back to is:

31 ways to improve your written communications

Broad enough for me to be able to write 31 decent-sized posts - and also one of the stated aims of my business: to help improve written communications.

Expand full comment

I am torn between two ideas, writing 31 poems for my poetry book or writing a series of posts about decisions I have made in my past and how they might have been different if I knew then what I know now. What advice I'd give my younger self.

Expand full comment

Hey Ninjas - I'm crazy late to the party, but intrigued by the BYOB project!

My reader is Jen, late 40's, her kids are teens or grown, and she finds herself with much more time to pursue her own passions..except it's been so long, she struggles with the guilt of taking time to explore her writing and art, and she struggles with self-doubt: is her creative work any good? what's the point, what's the purpose?

So, here are some themes I'm considering. Any jump out at you, especially if you're my "Jen?" 😉

#1 31 days to self-love through self-expressive art

#2 31 steps to create a daily art-making habit

#3 31 mini creative projects you can start + finish in less than 30/60/90 minutes a day

#4 31 days to reconnect with your inner artistic child

#5 31 ways to unblock as a writer by playing with other art mediums

#6 31 ways to express your creativity daily and reconnect with your inner silly spirit

Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment