70 Comments

I have decided to write my BYOB on being a senior. This book would be for seniors now and those about to become seniors. I want to tell them what to expect. What is available to seniors, some health tips specific to seniors, and general life information for when you get there. I feel I can easily do 31 posts on this. What do people think?

Expand full comment

I am writing a series of blog posts on my weight loss journey with the WFPBD (Whole-Food, Plant-Based Diet). I will chronicle my success and setbacks along with the meals and pictures of my transformation.

I've already posted on Medium and to my facebook friends who have shown some great support if anyone would like to read the post (it's on Medium) I'd welcome the feedback. (if it's okay to post here).

Expand full comment

I plan to write about race and coming into my identity. Being Black, Mexican-Indigenous, and Filipino ("the mexico of asia" according to those who even accept Filipinos as Asian) and born and raised in a place that is almost always described as "rich, white, racist."

I expect it will only interest a few people, and probably most with people who think they'll be mentioned in it. I'm okay with that. Outside of that, hopefully it will connect with some white suburban moms who are ready to go beyond the "exotic" and exciting stories of notable POC and look at more mundane experiences that happen in their own backyard, under their own noses, and with their participation. If I can connect with anyone like me- mixed race, non-immigrant, and fearing/hating every drop of it- and let them see the freedom and beauty that comes with taking ownership of their own family history and personal story, it will be a bonus.

Of course hearing that anyone would be interested and I'm not writing this solely because I feel compelled to would be nice.

Expand full comment

I am thinking of my BYOB being about navigating life's dietary curveball restrictions. How to navigate a potluck, how to navigate the in law's dinner etc.

Expand full comment

Hey! So I have two ideas: my first one is “An Attitude of Gratitude—31 Days to A Lifelong Habit.” The second is a children’s non-fiction on a STEM or STEAM topic. But haven’t narrowed it down... maybe some odd, bizarre facts about plants—like ones that eat or move? I’m a reading teacher and one book I use in my reading groups is about plants that eat bugs and how they capture them. Thanks for any comments!

Expand full comment

I have three ideas:

1. A series on early recovery from addiction to substances. This is what I do for a living (for now) and is a familiar topic for me. I could use it as a lead generator for other business opportunities

2. A series on making the decision to have weight loss surgery and everything that entails.

3. A series on feminist women in history. I would write about a different woman each day. This topic sounds really fun to me...but the practical part of me says "promote your business"

Expand full comment

Hello everyone - I'm going to write about accessibility for students with disabilities in online education. The final product will be a quick-start introduction and how-to guide for teachers who are suddenly up to their necks in online education, and feeling a bit overwhelmed with it all.

For the 31 days of blogging I'm thinking I'll write a combination of informative posts to raise awareness about disability, assistive technology, and accessibility requirements, along with micro-challenges and how-to posts for addressing the accessibility issues within online curriculum.

The ideal outcome would be an experience over 31 days that leads a teacher to the point where have a grip on how to assess their course content for accessibility issues, and they know how to address the issues, and end with a more accessible curriculum for their online course(s).

Expand full comment

I just sent off a manuscript to my editor... one I've been procrastinating on for awhile, so that feels GREAT! As far as the book idea, I want to "finish" a book I've been wanting to write. It's a creative non-fiction story from the pov of my last Scottish Terrier, Hanabi-Roisin (rosheen). A bit like A Dog's Purpose... or some of the Art of Racing in the Rain. Your method for picking a topic is great, but this is what I want to work on for now. I hope that will fit the BYOB. The accountability will help! I've used this kind of accountability for other books and it's wonderful!

This idea might seem a little woo-woo for some, but that's where I live. ;)

Expand full comment

Hi, all. I came up with three ideas, all of which I am interested in writing.

1. 31 blogging prompts for bloggers who write essays

2. Since I had an essay about my 160-pound weight loss, I thought I would write about that, but I am worried I didn't use a "system" and maybe I don't have enough material for 31 days.

3. I've been an expat in the Philippines for 9 years and I have plenty of anecdotes and tips to fill 31 days.

What do you think?

Expand full comment

Hi, everyone, I'm writing a book on punctuation--possibly the most boring topic on the planet to most people! But vital for writers. I want to know what are some of the confusing, aggravating, or stupid things you don't get about punctuation. Dumb rules? Stuff you wish you could remember but don't? Why any of it matters? Believe it or not, I've got 25 of 31 posts filled for the BYOB challenge, so I'd appreciate 6 more ideas! Note: this is a punctuation book, not grammar. The grammar one is next! Thanks.

Expand full comment

I'm drawn to things that seems strange or can be made strange when we look at them from a different perspective. For these 31 Looks Strange pieces, I'm thinking about drawing on popular culture. Topics might include things like the difference between the original Japanese Ninja Warriors and the US version (why does the US audience need stories about the contestants in order to make it meaningful?), love locks, touring the Anne Frank Museum via Google, and for my GenX compadres, why does cultural memory not celebrate Electric Company? I mean, Morgan Freeman and Rita Moreno, yeah?

My intent is more to establish a consistent writing practice than to have a holistic book as a result.

Expand full comment

I think so too. Thanks!

Expand full comment

I'm working on a book for starting over after your life falls apart. My ideal reader would be someone in her 40's or 50's who has had a relationship end that also took her down financially and emotionally. As my own relationship with a narcissist ended and I was left to start over from scratch, I had other friends also starting over in various ways. I want women to know that you can survive after a huge life shake up and that things can be even better than they were. I'm just not sure that it fits in the "31 days" theme, although I had no trouble finding 31 things to write about. I also can't find any books geared to this. Everything seems to be about getting past bad relationships. I think that "starting over" can happen in various ways, so maybe there's a hole to fill in this topic. I'm also planning to add cartoons that I draw for each topic to add some humour, and a cool graphic with snippets of poetry that I'll write for each topic, as well. My questions are, does this seem like a topic people would be interested in, and is there a way to fit it into the "31 days" theme without making people feel like they have to rebuild their lives in 31 days (not possible). I might not blog it at all and just concentrate on putting the book together with what I've learned from this challenge. So many things to consider!

Expand full comment

Loving all these ideas! I am toying with 31 poems about life, which is a step away from the YA SFF novels that I normally like to write

Expand full comment

I've got two possible ideas: 31 things I wish I'd known before becoming an author or lessons on writing, something along those lines. The second is to do writing prompts for children with a focus to homeschooling parents. I appreciate any feedback you might have.

Expand full comment

I'm noodling around with the BYOB idea of "31 days to a better life," with at least 1 actionable tip per day. I'd like to hit on a range of self-improvement topics. But I'm wondering if the idea is too broad? Though part of me wants to experiment with this angle as a way to possibly find my niche, which so far doesn't exist :)

Expand full comment

I plan to write about creativity and passion. I know there’s a lot on the subject, but maybe with finding time to be creative,or figuring out what’s your interest. I’ll take suggestions 😍

Expand full comment

Hi everyone! I’m an American expat and visual artist & teacher living in Toulouse, France, and I already have a blog about the ups and down about being an expat… but I post irregularly, only once a month-ish. I’d like to continue this vein but perhaps weave more of the visual arts into my writing, my own or others’. I’m also really interested in the process of learning language; coping with the inner critic that many creative people (everyone, really) wrestle with; and finding beauty, mystery, and meaning in the everyday or ‘mundane’.

I think my ideal reader is someone who has traveled and/or lived abroad and/or longs to live abroad. Interested in the arts. Someone who appreciates new ways of seeing the world around them, the humor of a situation, and wants to feel (for expats particularly) that they’re not alone.

Here are my top 7 ideas. I’d love your feedback. Do any resonate?

31 tips/insights into living in France as an expat, as lived daily (practical & humorous)

31 mistakes I’ve made learning a language that will make you feel better about yourself

31 women artists you want to know about

31 French artists (or works of art) you might not know—or want to re-know—with sketches analyzing their work

31 reasons to drop the struggle, aka you’re just fine as you are

31 expats in Toulouse and a paragraph about their story and what they do (I think this might be too local?)

31 cheeses/vegetables/pastries found in France

Thanks!

Expand full comment

Just don't scare them too much, lol. I think it could be very helpful. I'm looking forward to seeing where you go with health tips.

Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment