27 Comments

My biggest struggle is getting the post done every. single. day. — in addition to doing my regular work. But, this is helping me to develop a habit of writing for myself every day, and that's great. I also find that as I get into more "nitty gritty" topics in diabetes, I have to work to put in the personal touches that resonate with my readers. I'm feeling more tired, and that makes me want to spit out facts instead of writing a more heart-felt post.

https://juliecunninghamrd.com/diabetes-foot-pain/

Expand full comment

My biggest struggle? I actually have two. Crafting the opt-ins on top of what I am writing every day and getting all my posts into the framework. I love the framework, but only got a portion of my posts into it. I've been powering through my posts, but this week definitely feeling at a bit more of a loss as I head into the home stretch.

Here is my post for the day: If You Aren't Doing at Least One of These, You'll Pay the Consequences: https://medium.com/living-to-learn/if-you-arent-doing-at-least-one-of-these-you-ll-pay-the-consequences-22eda9f46c38

Expand full comment

My biggest struggle is feeling like it matters. I was all fired up for two weeks, did really well. Then from aug 16-21 I fell into a pit of Nothing Matters. Thanks to coaching with Shaunta and meditation practice, I’m back. And when I do the book I’m going to include five previous posts to make up for what I’ve lost—posts I would’ve included anyway. https://medium.com/the-view-from-my-window/it-doesnt-happen-all-at-once-2f6e486e0009?source=friends_link&sk=7c655aeb8cac5b179e3e5414043cf988

Expand full comment

Initially, I thought that I'd be able to create a publishable post with about 30 - 40 mins of writing. Based on that assumption, I subtitled my first post 1/31: BYOB. That turned out to be a mistake because it took me about 60 - 120 mins to write, edit, and publish a post.

Because I had already started numbering my posts, I did not want to break the chain so I continued plodding with the blog along with my regular work. I was able to keep up with the effort for about 10-days but the overwork caught with me after that.

I knew it was going to be impossible for me to continue this routine for the whole month without completely exhausting myself. So I decided to pull back. I made a plan to write for 20 mins (1 Pomodoro) consistently but publish only when I had a full post.

Unfortunately, this means that the 31st post will be published sometime in September instead of August 31st. Initially, I thought that I had to be accountable to my readers, and while it's true, I also need to be accountable to myself and my health. I decided that as long as I knew I was doing my best, I did not have to worry about anything else.

I still write 20 minutes every day but I don't publish every day.

Lesson Learned: Do not number posts in future 31-day writing challenges. Instead, it's better to share my work with the writing group in a Google Doc and publish finished blogs when they are ready.

Expand full comment

I feel that I am running out of topics on my subject of being a senior.. I have posted daily but am feeling a little desperate the last few days. https://medium.com/@lee.anne.a.hancock/can-you-be-a-dog-walker-b90d68d1f4a6

Expand full comment

The biggest struggle for me has been to separate what people want to read from what I consider important. https://medium.com/cultivating-wonder/gods-in-worldbuilding-cc73e36d3875

Expand full comment

My biggest struggle has been to make up the first five days. I have made up two, need three More.

https://link.medium.com/T7GNlTNLb9

Expand full comment

My biggest struggle is figuring out the best way to promote these posts--one by one, or in a batch on my publication's newsletter--which is slower going...here's the latest...https://medium.com/humor-authenticity-magic/god-believes-in-miracles-do-you-111b12c374e4

Expand full comment

My biggest struggle has been disciplining myself to write every day. I like long-form, and it taxes my brain to write for more than a couple of hours at a time. My solution has been to shorten the length of my articles for the challenge to 1000 words or less. I'm also getting better at writing faster. Here's my latest for Aug 23. https://medium.com/what-to-do-about-everything/how-to-create-your-own-personal-writing-style-guide-d21c17edeb47

Expand full comment

I have recovered from my TOS hissy hiatus freak out from last week and back to writing. This is parked in the Illumination shop for publishing, but here's a link to my blog.

https://www.karenhumphries.net.au/your-emotional-response-to-breast-cancer-hurt-more-than-healing-your-physical-wounds/

Expand full comment

Biggest challenge has been maintaining enthusiasm for an academically inclined project that is more recitation than research- but it is still a great feeling to get each post finished and published, even when the inspiration is scarce throughout the day. My next project is going to be fiction! So anyway, here is day 23 of accessibility of online learning - accessible video containers: https://idwerkz.com/blog/31-days-to-a11y/accessible-video-players-content-container-united/

Expand full comment

I am in a completely different space when I am writing fiction than when I'm writing a blog. I chose the joy of fiction and felt immense relief. I am a tailor at heart which means that every stitch counts whether it is seen or not. Spending the time deepening the back stories of my characters felt heroic and I feel stronger for it. I've post 4 fictions excerpts, but I've worked on over a dozen others. They don't satisfy me and that is who I am pleasing.

Expand full comment

Initially my struggle was crafting an article I was ready to submit each and every day. But after the first week, it got easier, and I realized I didn't need to be a perfectionist! Now the toughest thing is the emotional part of putting myself out there with every post. My writing is very personal and this is the first time in my life I've put it out there for the world to read. Heading into the last week I am feeling easier with it because I realize that even if I I only reach 1 person with 1 of my posts, if I've made a difference in someone's life, that's all that matters! Also, writing consistently has helped me piece together more of the framework for my new business and how I will use my writing as a part of it! Today's post: https://medium.com/@alstramira7/walking-a-labyrinth-revealed-my-destiny-839dd0557c04

Expand full comment

I need to see demand in order to know which topics someone is waiting to see. I have more than 157 topics, outlines I could write and post, daily or more often. Without demand and voices from "there" which topic do I pick up today and finish, then post or send? Not interested in entertaining myself. "The list" has to talk back. Even a really short article, focusing on one great question seeking wisdom of the tribe, gets only a handful who know how to click REPLY and then.... say something.

Expand full comment

Same here. Sending it to everyone I know but not having time to talk to them. No one signing up for email list do I have to text it to all my family and friends

Expand full comment

My biggest struggle has definitely been fitting in writing the posts around my regular work. And I am only writing 3 times a week! I also keep vowing to make my posts shorter, but then I have too much to say! I have been doing better at leaving things out that I want to talk about and letting myself save stuff for future posts.

Expand full comment

My biggest struggle is just finding the time every day! I have a funeral to get to and three long car journeys next week so that will be my biggest challenge yet!

Expand full comment

My biggest struggle has been focusing on the bigger purpose of the book. I find myself writing off on a different tangent. It's been helpful to remember that and also to understand that even though I'm writing a publishable article each day, I'll get to go back and edit them. I've sent off a few I knew could be better, but the push to get the daily writing done is the only way I will get to the end.

Expand full comment

“The Easiest Eggplant Recipes” by Julie Moreno https://link.medium.com/wgm72AVPb9

I'm ready for the home stretch!

Expand full comment

My biggest struggle is go keep my stories intriguing day after day

“Love in an elevator” https://link.medium.com/T3ozanxBb9

Expand full comment