55 Comments
Jul 9, 2022Liked by Shaunta Grimes

Hi all. I've done this twice but didn't publish either time. Third time is a charm.

I actually have 2 topics. One is new - Plants that poison and kill your darlings. Second is from my first BYOB and that is - Seniors and how to live the good life. I have the all the blog posts written for that topic and will edit one each day. My plan is to write a new post and edit an old one each day. I love challenges.

Expand full comment

Now that I'm finally moved and settled in, I'm ready to get back to it. Topic is How to Stay Sober After Treatment: Staying Sober for the Long Haul. Geared toward people who have recently completed treatment or are in early recovery.

Expand full comment
Jul 9, 2022Liked by Shaunta Grimes

I am so excited for this year's Blog Your Own Book challenge. The last two times, personal circumstances stopped me from participating. But hell or high water, I am doing it this year.

Expand full comment

Working Title - Get It Done: 31 Productivity Tips for the Unproductive. I'm not sure whether I am going to gear this towards writers or anyone who works from home. Looking forward to seeing what we all can do.

Expand full comment

Working tittle - How to Effectively Price your Product or Service. Target market is small business owners. Goal of book to show how to reduce expenses, increase revenue, calculate break even, find products or services which you can sell a at profit. Find the right clients etc

Expand full comment
Jul 9, 2022Liked by Shaunta Grimes

I have the title for my book already. But the title does have in a graphic word and I don't want to offend anyone by sharing it. :)

Expand full comment
Jul 9, 2022Liked by Shaunta Grimes

I'm not sure whether to go with 31 Alternative Uses For an MFA or 31 Steps to Joy. I think maybe the first one

Expand full comment

Hi everyone! I'm tackling two subjects this August, though they are related:

First, I want to write a "Not Your Typical Digital Nomad Advice" book: Specific details on how to get started, what to expect, culture shock, how to immerse yourself in the culture, how to give back to the community you've become a part of, how to avoid gentrification (as much as possible), and more. I've read so many pieces of advice that are bland, shallow, or suggest that freelancers live in this vacuum of only sitting by the pool or overlooking the sea without ever engaging with the local community, and I'm ready to start changing/complicating that narrative.

Second, it's a long story, but my family is incredibly toxic, and I have no access to the information I would need to discover the roots of my family. I've struggled with this my entire life and tried to conduct my own research, but to no avail. I'm not ready to fully give up my search, but I'm coming to terms with the fact that I may never know where I'm from, and I'm learning to find peace, joy, and comfort in my chosen family, friends, and culture. I may need more than August to write this book, but I'll be off to a reallllllly solid start by the end of that month.

I can't wait to read everyone's posts! Your topics are all so interesting.

Expand full comment
Jul 10, 2022·edited Jul 10, 2022

I believe I have my topic! I will write on how to create diverse and inclusive characters in your Scifi Romance novel.

Expand full comment

Question. Is anyone planning to do their BYOB directly to Instagram or Facebook? I only ask because, 1) I don't feel like necessarily setting up another blog, 2) I want more eyes on my work instantly and more comments, 3) I've researched how a few authors have done this successfully, one being Rupi Kaur, awesome poet. Any thoughts, feedback is greatly appreciated? I've been mulling over this for days and I need to make a decision so I can go ahead and set it up. Some of the pros of Facebook are, cutting and pasting is easy from blog to Facebook page/group, plus you can add media as well as link other related resources and keep it conversational with your readers, and with Instagram you can get quick likes and comments accompanied by a graphic image that can introduce or explain the writing. And I can autopost to both simultaneously if I wanted to. Again, feedback or thoughts accepted.

Expand full comment

I just caught up with the July video, so much helpful info! My chosen niche is ‘modern witches’, and my project is going to be a mini grimoire of low effort spells using everyday items called ‘Simple Spells for Busy Witches’ 🧙🏼‍♀️

Expand full comment

Hi all, I've also done this in the past, but never finished what I started. So hopefully this year will be different. I was thinking of doing a book that is centered on writing. I want to write about Mastering Mystery Tropes to Improve Your Mysteries. I look forward to the next BYOB call.

Expand full comment

Topic: A to Z tips for Dyslexics.

Expand full comment

Absolutely! We can do it together.

Expand full comment

Hello everyone. So, this will be my 3rd time doing BYOB, but this year I plan to actually publish. I also realize that I already have several writing projects that I've been "working on" for so long that they're almost already publishable. So, while my main project will be my nonfiction book about "launching" as a 40 and over person (and the many definitions that come with launching in life), I also have two poetry collections that need to be edited and shared. I'll be 50 in 2023 and finally publishing, will be my birthday present to myself!

Expand full comment

My topic is about how to use writing to heal from trauma. I'm a facilitator of a support group for abuse survivors and I have done research on the topic and hopefully will write a book and be able to offer workshops.

I miss the Ninja Writers! I joined last year but had to leave since the timing was off but I was happy to hear about the BYOB challenge.

Expand full comment

Interested! How can I participate?

Expand full comment

Hi! I’m writing about the housing crisis and prejudice that I experienced and surmounted. Thx for facilitating this!

Expand full comment