49 Comments

1. I want to learn how to plot and write books and publish them, either traditionally or indie published. I would love to have an agent. I want to write novels for a living, or at least a supplemental living. I would like to build my audience and publish something regularly. I might even give writing for Amazon a shot. I am currently blogging on Medium, so growing my audience there (and hopefully my income) is important to me. I would like to have 1000 followers and make enough on Medium to pay for my annual writer’s tools, like workshops, classes, websites and Medium partner program. I also want to be able to share my knowledge with others, so I want to write for students and teachers, best practices, tips and tricks. I want to publish a cookbook for ordinary cooks that preserve our family favorite recipes. I think it could be part memoir and mostly cooking tips, tricks, advice and recipes. I have an idea for a children’s book, so I would like to develop that too.

2. I enjoy writing things that help others, sharing recipes I love and historical fiction. I enjoy reading all genres of books, but I would like to work on writing fantasy and maybe light romance. So far, I am drawn to write historical fiction, sharing recipes, and blogging on topics that interest me. I’ve started blogging about things related to education, because I know a bit about it.

I want to be earning some money (more than $4.00 a month) on Medium, preferably in the $100s and be ready to publish my first book and lessons posted in Teachers-Pay-Teachers.

3. In the next six months, I would like to have a draft of my historical fiction novel finished, my cookbook edited and ready for publishing and several lessons created to sell on Teachers-pay-Teachers. I want to write characters that become the readers’ best friend. I want to create realistic stories that the reader feels a part of: in the setting, in the action, invested. I want to be a writer that has developed a writing program for parents and students (and teachers).

4. My focus for the next six months is... Learning how to use SEO to help build my readership on both Medium and my own platform and expanding my idea list to focus on desirable topics for readers as well as submit to various publications. Also, I need to deeply understand plot development and planning for writing my historical fiction book. Finally, I need to learn about self-publishing my cookbook maybe on Amazon.

Expand full comment

I'm so loving this follow-the-directions writing thing! It forces me to do stuff that I would normally put off! So...

1. Three years from now, I'd like to be self-published on the topics of health/nutrition as well as domestic violence. I'd like to have a recurring income stream from self-published books (rather than relying on contract writing for money).

2. I most enjoy writing personal essays or creative non-fiction. I think I'd like to try fiction a la Jodi Picoult, but I haven't tried it.

3. Six months from now, I'd like to have "30 Days to Tame Type 2 Diabetes" self-published, and I'd like to have a second book (aimed at parents of kids and teens with type 2 diabetes) also self-published.

4. Publish "30 Days" by the end of October; outline the new book in November/December, and begin writing the new book in January.

Expand full comment

1. What type of writer do you want to be three years from now? A short story writer on Kindle.

2. What type of writing do you enjoy? I enjoy writing about people struggling with life and life choices.

3. What type of writer do you want to be six months from now? A consistent fiction writer with a series of related characters who wander in and out of each other’s stories.

4. Based on the last question you answered, choose a small goal (or two) that will act as your focus for the next six months. I want to learn how to deftly create compelling short stories to a formula that is not a formula.

Expand full comment
Sep 12, 2020Liked by Shaunta Grimes

1. I want to have my Year of Haiku published. Indie publishing is fine. I want to finish the books I've started. I'm great at starting, not great at finishing. I want to be able to write books quickly and have them be popular, so the income is there. I don't need the next great American novel. Just to be prolific, regular, and paid.

2. My favorite writing is essay, poetry and comedy. So if I can weave something into what I love, that would probably be best. What a challenge.

3. In 6 months, I'd like my routine to be more predictable. So my writing is a habit, like the afternoon cup of tea.

4. My goal really needs to be to imbed the writing habit as one that is like my other habits, non-negotiable. It's the only way I'll get the work out that I want to get out.

Expand full comment
Sep 11, 2020Liked by Shaunta Grimes

1. What type of writer do you want to be three years from now? I want to be a self-published author and blogger. I want to have three Fleshwarper novels published, a huge back catalog in Cultivating Wonder, and several other ebooks published. I want as large a percentage as possible of the money my writing makes to come to me. I want to have a process that allows me to efficiently develop, write, and publish my novels.

2. What type of writing do you enjoy? I love telling stories and creating material that demystifies traditionally complex topics.

3. What type of writer do you want to be six months from now? One with an increasing freelance income who is deep into the writing of their novel.

4. Based on the last question you answered, choose a small goal (or two) that will act as your focus for the next six months. Goal one: Finish my worldbuilding book. Goal two: Reallocate morning writing time to working on my novel.

Expand full comment
Sep 11, 2020Liked by Shaunta Grimes

OK, this is my first time ever sharing writing goals with anyone- here we go!

1. Three years from now I would like to be working towards a PhD in sociology and also regularly publishing creative and journalistic non-fiction on my personal blog or website, Medium, or some other platform. While my graduate program (cause I will be in one!) will be focused on academic research and publishing, I'd like to use the 1000 day MFA to keep me focused on publishing non-academic observations and work that is accessible to a broader audience.

2. Admitting that I enjoy writing and want to intentionally develop my skills has been a long process for me. At my core I only enjoy writing non-fiction and I'm still exploring what styles of non-fiction best match my voice and writing style. I like telling stories about real experiences, both mine and others, that can enlighten readers about their own experience and the experiences of those around them. I am insatiably curious and my interests include society (I am a sociologist after all), digital spaces, communities in the 21st century, how we personally and collectively deal with life's hurdles, economic alternatives to capitalism, and how we can work to combat climate change among many other things. These may seem like a wide range but in my research and observations they are all connected. My working Medium tagline is: "I am a constellation of sociology, organizations, and social justice. Most of all I am a person and I write about that experience here."

3. Six months from now I'd like to be a person who not only writes, but shares what I've written with others -- publicly. Over the last year I've tried to focus on taking my brief observations about the world around me and turning them into longer non-fiction pieces. Aside from master's program assignments I have been reluctant to share these pieces with anyone, certainly not with some unknown audience! I want to take these next six months to focus on not only writing more, but writing for a public audience. I need to keep this goal in context as I am also finishing my master's thesis this fall and applying for PhD programs.

4. While I'm finishing my master's thesis and applying for PhD programs my short term (3 month) goal is to build the foundations for a regular writing and publishing habit. I'd like to increase my comfort with sharing my work with others, build my personal website, and work on developing my voice as a non-fiction writer. The outcome of this work will be one published article on Medium that is an accessible reflection of my academic work (hopefully by December) and to have several more in the works. My secondary goal is that I would like to be actively working on getting my master's thesis or some other academic work published in an academic journal.

Expand full comment
Sep 11, 2020Liked by Shaunta Grimes

1. I want to have at least 5 books published on a variety of topics. I want to be making a full-time living as a writer of both fiction and non-fiction. I want to know the ins and outs of self-publishing and have multiple income streams supporting my business. I want to be writing short stories and longer works in the genres of speculative fiction and dystopian fiction.

2. I enjoy writing both fiction and nonfiction. I like to research and put together papers. I like to write about ideas and systemic issues. I enjoy blogging and getting work out there

3. I want to have two BYOB books self-published. One as a lead generator and one that I can sell. Topics are substance use and emotional intelligence. I want to be making enough money as a freelance writer to be able to quit my full time job.

4. Finish my writers website, develop a successful pitch letter, pick up at least two consistent freelance contracts, finish two BYOB projects

Expand full comment
Sep 11, 2020Liked by Shaunta Grimes

I too would like to write fiction and short fiction and self-publish. I want to know how to market my writing so that I have a steady and liveable income from my writing. I want to quit my current job....badly.

I need to learn how to write short and flash fiction and would like to master those skills.

Although I will continue to blog, I do not foresee it providing a substantial income. However, I'd like to make more on Medium or another platform. I am exploring where else I can publish my blogs.

Expand full comment

Three years from now I want to be writing full time. I want my book to be revised and published and continuing to write essays and short stories.

The writing I enjoy is the every day sort of writing! I write across genres. It just makes me happy.

I do want to be more skilled. When I did the MFA challenge on my own my writing got better. To do it with others brings me joy. I am in the middle of a short story writing class as well so I hope to learn at least 3 new craft skills in order to be better.

Expand full comment
Sep 12, 2020Liked by Shaunta Grimes

1. In three years, I want to have sold over twenty titles in the form of novellas, novels on Amazon. There is a specific agent I want to hunt me and sign me. I want to be writing posts - vignettes of how life looks sprinkled with large doses of humor. I enjoy helping others, so maybe be involved in some non-fiction items for blog posts.

2. I love to write romantic suspense. It is where I get to dream up great settings with fractured characters who can't seem to heal. Wise-cracking females tempting and teasing those alpha males who get so bent out of shape over the fact that females end up rescuing him. I do have a tendency to read true crime. Although I need to read more books on writing. I would love to learn how to put a story together with the threat of my spiral thinking overshadowing my stories. I need more study and practice with this.

3. I want to say good-bye to my day job and write without the worry about money nagging at me. Also I become more focused on my writing. Like when you get into that zone where you are living your character's story and can hardly wait for them to tell you where they want to go. I want to be in that zone without having to set a timer to get to bed so I can get up for my day job.

4. Within these next six months, I would love to be over my self-induced shyness and learn how to properly set up a post so I can begin to publish my posts. For this, I need to have the self-confidence to understand my writing is good. I want to write daily and target my writing towards something more viable than stowing the words away in a file on board my computer. I have a massed a lot of information from taking a varied amount of writing courses. What happens is I overwhelm myself and withdraw from the course less than a third of the way through. It comes down to time and commitment. Were I a guy, I would have to say I had fear of commitment. But since I'm not, I think it is just too much on the go in my life and learn to say no. Or figure out what means most to me. Writing or my sanity. Probably writing. Yeah. I'm going to stick with writing.

Expand full comment

Deep Breath...

1. I want to be regularly publishing articles that will allow me to earn an income as a working writer. And, write occasional (once a month) journalistic style articles that will provide in-depth information about where our food comes from.

2. I like to write inspiring and motivating articles that will get my audience to cooking. I like to write in a way that reaches their emotion by understanding their life and solving their cooking challenges.

3. I want to write faster and cleaner with a clear purpose for every article.

4. Continue to create and follow my monthly publishing schedule. Complete my BYOY book and offer it as an opt-in gift. Complete my website redesign (in the next two months).

Expand full comment
Sep 11, 2020Liked by Shaunta Grimes

1. I want to be a traditionally published author. I want to have my WIP novel, my collection of short stories published, and my collaboration with another writer, published by traditional means. I want to have a following, at the very least enough that I continue to make money from these and related projects.

2. I can write anything. However, I prefer to write fiction, generally set in my own little worlds. Though I am currently researching real-life places for something in the works. I was told I'm good at informative essays, though I'd rather do essays based on interviews, rather than stuffy book work. (For a class I wrote an essay on tattoos, and I got to talk to quite a few people that I came across in my day job.)

3. In six months I want to be finished with my WIP novel, have a final draft, and be ready to send it off to publishers. I want to have at least 3 more short stories for my collection, and be able to sit down and write without drawing a blank on what I want to write.

4. Make a writer's webpage (not done yet because of financial issues), create a pitch letter (hopefully successful), and finish my WIP.

Expand full comment

1. By the end of 2023, I want to be on a book tour with "StoryEarth Chronicles: The Sting Baby." And I want the several CNF personal essays of mine that were published in literary magazines to have inspired the memoir I will write, now that my wonderful agent has found me a great publisher that wants it. (The very fair contract is already signed.)

2. Writing I enjoy: Magical realism, fantasy, poetry, memoir.

3. Six months from now "StoryEarth Chronicles: The Sting Baby" will be submitted to several publishers who've expressed interest. I will have created and self-published my BYOB, and it will be creating a little buzz. And I will have gotten much better at researching, researching, and targeting places for my writing to be published.

4. What I will do in the next six months: A) Work with Shaunta one on one on all three fronts,

B) design, and self-publish the BYOB, C) finish the 6-episode workshop from Marion Roach Smith I bought on memoir, and D) finish the Master Class I bought with Joyce Carol Oates on Short Story.

Expand full comment
Sep 11, 2020Liked by Shaunta Grimes

1. In three years I want to be a prolific writer. I want to have 3 fantasy/scifi novels for either MG or YA published. I want to have 3 non-fiction books published. I also want to have a weekly blog about pursuing faith in God through the bible, which is what my 3 non-fiction books will be about. I also want to publish 3 children's books.

2. I enjoy scifi/fantasy, mystery and romance. I have several story ideas in each of these genres. I have a desire to write a bible study guide for children and teens. I want to share my faith with others.

3. In six months I want to have a consistent habit of writing daily. I want my current WIP to be finished and sent off to an editor. In August, I planned to do the BYOB and had everything planned out, but I never actually did the writing, I want to finish that project and have it done by the end of the six months as one of my non-fiction books.

4. I will build a habit of writing, by choosing to write everyday for at least 10 mins and set up a schedule for my writing that I will stick to doing. I will write five blogs a month towards my BYOB. I will learn what I need to know to set up an email sever and create my giveaway, because it is these two things that have held me back from being consistent with blogging.

Expand full comment
Sep 11, 2020Liked by Shaunta Grimes

1. By the autumn of 2023, I want to have written multiple successful romance novels and be making an abundant living solely from my writing, perhaps from both novels and freelance articles. (Is having two separate and unrelated goals too scattered?)

2. I enjoy good writing in all genres, including well-written journalism pieces. I’m naturally a curious person and frequently go down Internet rabbit holes on random topics. When I read books, it’s generally literature, romance, essay collections, or science fiction. I also love humor and satire. The thing I love about romance novels is they’re a mental escape that always ends well. My goal is to do it well so that it appeals to people who may not typically have thought they would enjoy the genre.

3. In six months, I want to have self-published one novel, be at work on a second, and have a thriving freelance business that’s earning enough money to pay for my health insurance.

4. A.) Work on my novel each day consistently and make progress. B.) Finish my freelance website. C.) Get hired for an assignment.

Expand full comment
Sep 11, 2020Liked by Shaunta Grimes

1. In three years I would like to have self-published three books and be able to make a living as a full-time writer. I would like to be primarily self-published, but I would like to have at least a few books traditionally published. Part of this is just for pure ego, but also because I think it helps with my platform (and certain kinds of readers will take my work more seriously).

2. I enjoy fiction. Primarily I like writing long fiction, but I somewhat recently I've tried short form and really liked it. I like writing all kinds of genres--fantasy, sci-fi, mystery, horror, comedy...even straight "literary fiction."

3. In six months I would like to have my first book ready to publish.

4. My small goal should be to spend at least one hour writing each day.

Expand full comment
Sep 11, 2020Liked by Shaunta Grimes

1. Three years from now, I'd like to be a working writer that is self-supporting and bringing in a sizable income to help my family. I'd like my Medium articles to be bringing in enough to pay for my daughter's dance lessons. I would also like to have my novel series accepted, published and potentially developed into a tv show/movie. I'd like to make enough for my husband to not have to go to work every day and to start traveling without worry about needing to show up on-site for work. I don't ever want to stop writing. :)

2. I enjoy writing fiction and creative non-fiction. I love writing about moral flexibility and exploring character flaws in my characters. I like world building as well. I even like helping people draw up cover letters or formal papers used in college application reconsideration letters, or formal disputes.

3. Six months from now, I want to be a successful professional writer and confident sharer of my fiction. I'm a confident writer already, and I have no fear of trying to tackle anything that is written, I'm just terrified of letting people peek inside my head sometimes. I would love to have my first novel finished, edited, and accepted by a traditional publisher and/or agent - whichever I need to get first. I would also like to have a better reputation as an accomplished writer.

4. My two goals I need to focus on to achieve my six month goal is to stop trying so hard to second guess my instincts on my writing and just edit what I have. (Stop trying to reinvent the wheel, and stop trying to stem my creative flow.) Remind myself that writing is my job and to come up with a schedule that works for my unique way of thinking. I also need to write and publish at least two articles a week, get more training as a writer and learn to share my ideas more.

Whew! :P

Expand full comment

1. I am so new to writing that I don’t even know exactly what the options are for types of writers, so I don’t know yet what my three-year goal is. But starting right where I am today, jumping right in, I do know that I want to honor God with my writing. The type of writer I want to be is creative and inspiring. I want my writing to be a blessing to those who read it. I want it to be a ministry. Since I don’t know what I’m doing yet, I think I’ll start by trying to do part of what Shaunta is doing. She wrote, “In three years, I’d like to have one hundred short stories available on Kindle and a viable, significant income stream coming from them.” One hundred short stories in three years sounds like a lot, but I’d like to try.

2. I enjoy writing stories that are positive and uplifting but also a little edgy. I like to have contrast in my stories. I also enjoy writing in my personal journal every day.

3. My six-month goal is to enter a writing contest and have ten short stories published on Amazon.

4. Here again, I plan to do what Shaunta is doing. She wrote, “My focus for the next six months is to learn about self-publishing a short story on Amazon and to develop a formula for writing quick and easy short stories.” Also, I plan to enter a writing contest, and hopefully, win.

Expand full comment

Catching up on my day 1 assignment:

1. Three years from now - I’d like to be a published author (ebook & traditionally) for (at least 2 books) my biography book & fiction. I envisage generating income from both books by that time.

2. I enjoy writing about real personal events. I’d also love to go into documentaries. I also love documenting my hiking experiences.

3. In six months time I want to be a published author for my own biography.

4. My goal is to have my book structure by the end of October and a first draft by the end of January, aiming for a final draft by the end of February.

Expand full comment

okay, this is scary AF but that's why it's exciting, right?

1. Type of writer I want to be in 3 yrs: I want to be a traditionally published YA novelist earning a f/t income through my books, speaking engagements and writing workshops, and/or a writers' community.

2. Type of writing I enjoy most: Fiction will always have my heart - dark, creepy, or mysterious/tragic stories. I also enjoy blogging about writing: both the emotional side and the craft of writing itself. I also enjoy writing creative essays about parenting, marriage, mental health, and growing up in an alcoholic home.

3. Type of writer I want to be in 6 mo: I want to be a more confident and consistent writer. I want to be posting and earning money on Medium, consistently entering fiction writing contests, and have the outline and first draft of my YA novel done in 6 mo. More specifically: I want to be earning at least $1k/month on Medium 6 months from now, entering one fiction contest a month, and have a clear step-by-step plan of getting to the end of my novel's outline, ten with a clear plan of writing the damn thing!

4. A small goal or two to keep my focus: Oof! This is where my ADD brain needs some help. I want to do-all-the-things-all-at-once. One big step I've already committed to is earning my Bachelors in English - Writing Concentration, so my first two courses will keep me focused. (all my gen eds are out of the way so I'll be taking the fun writing stuff!)

Expand full comment

1. What type of writer do you want to be three years from now? I want to be a self-sustaining published author who is consistent in habit, creative, and able to set self-consciousness aside to complete the work.

2. What type of writing do you enjoy? I enjoy writing YA paranormal, romantic fantasy.

3. What type of writer do you want to be six months from now? I want to be writing consistently six months from now.

4. Based on the last question you answered, choose a small goal (or two) that will act as your focus for the next six months. I need to focus on creating character arcs and learn scene building.

Expand full comment

have trouble with zoom on my desk top

Expand full comment

1. What type of writer do you want to be three years from now?

I want to be able to write long, slow-burn stories. I want to get started or finish a novella. I want to have a small collection of my short stories and poems that I am ready to publish.

2. What type of writing do you enjoy?

I enjoy reading and writing descriptive writings. There is this technique I’ve seen again and again and I love it. It’s to use complicated and floral to describe the minute details but describe the main character’s feelings using simple words and that hits home.

3. What type of writer do you want to be six months from now?

I want to be able to write with a more floral style (meaning I have to expand my vocabulary) and plan good stories in a short amount of time.

4. Based on the last question you answered, choose a small goal (or two) that will act as your focus for the next six months.

I want to expand my vocabulary about twice the size it is right now (it’s pretty small) and I want to learn how to write with all 5 senses.

Expand full comment

This is a repost. After the last 4 days of working on this, I got more clear about my answers and realized I was approaching this assignment hesitantly. Doing the work the last few days has cleared that up.

1. Three years from now, I want to be a fluid and prolific writer in three domains.

a) Scholarly/academic - I intend to publish my dissertation to an journal article by the end of 2020 in the Grounded Theory Review. In addition, I plan to glean at minimum two academic articles, possibly 3-4 from my dissertation. I want to publish one academic article per year for the next three years.

b) Blogging - I want to write blogs that share unique life lessons in areas related to intuition, spirituality, mind-body medicine, human development, family, earth-conscious living, love, dreaming, rhythms & phases of life and productivity.

c) Creative writing - My creative writing started when I began writing scripts for hypnosis and journeying. Then, my dreams started to reveal a particular level of consciousness and behavior that I would like to share with others through writing fictional stories that bring forth these kinds of worlds. I guess this might be considered fantasy genre. I would like to get at least one complete draft finished within a year as a base to work from in developing the writing craft from there. Then use the next two years to 1) develop more intentionally in the craft of creative fictional writing 2) and to produce at least one story from this. This work is intended to just be a beginning to fictional writing.

2. I enjoy providing guidance and counsel to those who seek or need the guidance and counsel. I want to reinvent the meaning of the term guidance counselor so that the actions of a guidance counselor are more in line with what one expects upon first hearing the description guidance-counselor. As an educator and counselor, I am skilled in both providing instruction and guidance, while also reading or listening intently to what another is writing or saying. Then, based on what I pick up from the student both in terms of their potential, goals, blind areas or pitfalls, I enjoy providing clear and direct feedback to support the student in reaching towards what they truly want to be doing. I enjoy probing and asking unexpected questions and writing or saying true, but unexpected things that grab hold of their attention and lets them know someone is paying attention or notices this unique thing about them. I would like to find a way to use these skills in a more public and general way with people who through blog writing.

I also enjoy the experience of creative writing, from what I know if it from wading through the waters of experimentally writing. Though because I am not really familiar with the actual process of developing a story and character’s I find this more daunting. I enjoy it immensely when I am in the writing flow of developing a character or plotting a scene. I think with more engagement and learning in this medium, my experience of creative writing will improve dramatically.

I really enjoy writing guided journey meditations and would like to do this more frequently. Once a quarter for big journey’s, more frequently for smaller ones associated with the moon phases.

3. The type of writer I want to be in six months is a journal-published academic writer. This goal is 50% complete right now and I have adequate support to accomplish this goal. I know how to do it and am moving forward on this.

In addition, I want to be an active blog writer. Publishing an article at least once a week on Medium, and building a substack email account list with my guidance-counselor style blog.

4. My small goals for the next six months are to develop consistency in writing and publishing and to develop my writing voice more boldly. I think by doing this, the creative side of my writing will emerge with more engagement in the daily exercise of writing.

Expand full comment

What's interesting is, I have always wanted an MFA degree, I've worked at several educational institutions yet, I never got one because I was always from the school of thought that you had to be in an MFA full-time and be entrenched in your art and be a starving artist type grad student. Recently, I have actually been exploring alternatives to a traditional MFA. I enrolled in the WVU (Writer's Village University) MFA program, only an investment of $199, for a 3-year program (MFA in Creative Writing), an all online workshop still program and I took a course this summer with the DIY MFA program (Gabrielle Pieria). Because so much went on in my life this summer, I didn't have alot of time to devote to either, not consistently, however, I'm glad that Ninja Writers presented this 1000 Day MFA project because I really need to focus on my writing and I've made the decision to do just that for the remainder of 2020. Also, I'm not excited by the WVU online platform as they use a very antiquated platform, however, I'm hoping doing this with you, will help me get excited about them again. Also, if anyone else has explored the WVU program, please let me know so we can trade notes.

DAY 1: Find Your Focus

1) a - I would like to be a working poet (still also working a full-time 9-5 job), on a poetry tour, hosting events at various venues like wineries, wine bars, women's book clubs, community centers, and conferences.

b - I want to be known for my nonfiction writing, blog, and podcast focusing on the 40 and over lifestyle

c - I would like to be a published cookbook author

2) I enjoy reading poetry, romance/chick lit, and some nonfiction

3) 6 months from now, I would like to be a consistent blogger and a published author (with at least one to two published books)

4) One small achievable goal is to have at two published books in 6 months:

a - a book of poetry

b - a book of nonfiction

c - also one mini course created

d - also one presentation under my belt (which I actually do have scheduled for October)

Expand full comment

1.I want to be a successful and prolific author of short stories and novels.

2.I enjoy writing immersive fantasy stories with main characters who persevere in the face of adversity and whose identity is not defined by their adversity.

3.I want to be a prolific short story writer. I want to have to have my short stories submitted to and published in online SFF(Science Fiction & Fantasy) magazines that pay me for my stories.

4.Finish my author website, Become prolific in writing short stories and submitting them to magazines, Build an avid audience of readers(building my email list, appearing on podcasts, guest posting on blogs).

Expand full comment

(1) A published author with Medium articles, possibly a blog, coaching practice for “About Me” stories. I would like to teach women how to capture stories from their daily life and covert their daily wisdom to make change happen and maintain a healthy work-life balance.

(2) What type of writing do you enjoy?

Intercultural stories, lyrical writers, non-fiction that extracts the “aha” moments from daily life in meaningful and funny ways.

(3) What type of writer six months from now?

- I would like to finish the draft of my book = 42 x 1000 word scenes left.

(4) Based on last question, choose a small goal to act as focus for the next six months.

- Write every day: a story, or a story spark and tagged: memoir, refugee manifesto, scenes for the book.

Expand full comment

My 3-year goal: I want to be a traditionally published author with a strong mainstream following. I don't have to be famous--that's not my goal. My dream is to make a living writing novels. The way I like to describe my goal is that I want to be the contemporary female version of C.S. Lewis.

What do I like to write: I am crazy passionate about writing fiction. Not just regular fiction. I want to write stories that allegorically point people to a personal relationship with Jesus Christ, much like what C.S. Lewis did in the Chronicles of Narnia. The ideas I have range from sci-fi steampunk, to historical fiction, and YA dystopia like the novel I'm writing now. I like the idea of writing for a range of audiences, children, YA, and adults, primarily women.

What type of writer do I want to be 6 months from now?: Better than I am today with a polished manuscript that I can share with agents or whomever with the goal of publishing.

My first short-term goal is to finish my first draft by the end of this year and the next goal is to self-edit after that. I don't know what else comes in the process. As a third goal, I need to figure out the steps after self-editing.

Expand full comment

What type of writer do you want to be three years from now?

I would like to be a traditionally published writer of middle grade and YA novels, with an agent.

I would also like to be the Top Writer for Parenting in Medium.

I would like to be a short story writer, through my Naughty Brother Stories, with a podcast - an indie writer.

I dream of writing children’s picture books.

I would like to publish Workbooks in Teachers-Pay-Teachers, based on my blog, Write the Darndest Things.

In other words, I would not be “retired” (I just retired from teaching), but I would be a full-time writer with a steady income.

What type of writing do you enjoy?

I love writing funny middle grade adventure stories, similar to Dahl and Gaiman.

I love humour. I discovered my voice through Medium this way.

I like expressing opinions in Medium.

I like to teach, impart my wisdom on Parenting and Classroom Management - self-published..

What type of writer do you want to be six months from now?

I want to be the voice for parents, children and teachers in Medium and in my self-published book. This would mean to have an active blog on The Good Apple.

I want to be a novelist for a traditional publisher.

Based on the last question you answered, choose a small goal that will act as your focus for the next six months.

Medium blogging and blogging on The Good Apple.

Finish my book on I Planted Apples but Got Oranges.

Complete my YA.

Expand full comment

1.What type of writer do I want to be 3 years from now? One who writes every day:

One who writes to share power with others and one who also starts researching a novel about a heroine of the Spanish expulsion of 1492.

2. What type of writing do you enjoy? Writing that overturns old beliefs and persuades people to new ideas. Writing that finds secrets in texts. Writing that is simply human.

3. Six months from now: A writer with a writing routine. A writer who is becoming a scholar-writer:

a writer who has finished her long planned project of writng a narrative with the immigrant mothers she knows and cares for:

4: Goal: Set up first meeting with mothers tomorrow, and plan it with a co-facilitator and the shared decision making committee.

Expand full comment

What type of writer do you want to be three years from now?

I want to be able to earn a living from my writing, by having my essays published regularly, and finishing and publishing a work of fiction

What type of writing do you enjoy?

I love writing about my personal experiences. I have been a nurse for many years, and I have some really good stories to tell. I also like writing fiction, but haven’t done that in a very long time.

What type of writer do you want to be six months from now? I want to be a published writer six months from now with my short stories and be in the midst of writing my fiction book.

My two small goals would be to complete stories on a regular basis and to have at least one of them published.

Posting this is really facing my fear!

Expand full comment

1. What type of writer do you want to be three years from now?

Non fiction.

Write about spirituality and anti-racism, and European history related to colonialism and creating a slave economy and a consumer economy.

Write about software development. Also doing public software development to write about.

First book out in two years, maybe three, probably spirituality.

2. What type of writing do you enjoy?

I enjoy educating people.

I enjoy writing with humor.

I enjoy being transparent - how much is too much??

I have started to enjoy being authentic.

3. What type of writer do you want to be six months from now?

Good at writing for Medium.

Good at writing with my own voice.

Some revenue.

Better at marketing online, to help my wife’s business.

4. Based on the last question you answered, choose a small goal (or two) that will act as your focus for the next six months.

Writing daily.

Publishing weekly.

Expand full comment

1. In three years Kathleen will be a self-published writer of fiction and non-fiction works; she is also a content creator. Kathleen will publish a children book series, novels, a play, screen-plays, motivational and inspirational written works. Kathleen is richly rewarded creatively and financially.

2. Kathleen enjoys romance, happy endings, life lessons, and romance. Kathleen also enjoys opinion writing as she loves to encourage, empower, teach, share, and learn.

3. In six months Kathleen will be: a dedicated content creator/blogger with 2.000 plus progressive subscribers and customers; a self-published author of her children book series; half-way through writing her first novel.

4. During the next six months Kathleen will focus on writing her first novel.

Expand full comment

1. Three years from now, I'd like to be an award-winning (you said scariest goal, right?) traditionally published creative non-fiction writer with my first memoir earning me a role as an activist and spokesperson for women suffering from postpartum mental health problems. I'd like to be a ghostwriter and writing coach for others' memoirs, especially those of elders. I'd like to be working on a collection of poetry too. Or writing an academic research publication on selected twentieth century poets.

2. I enjoy creative non-fiction writing, especially memoir, but also personal essay writing. My secret love is poetry, and I'd like to strengthen my poetic writing to augment the creative component of my nonfiction writing.

3. Six months from now, I'd like to be a memoir writer with a completed first draft of my memoir, replete with full scenes that show the story from start to finish, so that I can begin writing query letters to search for a literary agent to represent my work to editors who may be interested in traditionally publishing it. I'd also like to be working on a collection of academic essays about selected twentieth century poets.

4. Based on my last question, I have the following three small goals on which to focus for the next six months:

A) I will write all my scenes for my memoir.

B) I will read all the like-minded memoirs in my subject area (postpartum psychosis and some about postpartum depression as well as first-time motherhood)

C) I will read and research poetry for a potential academic essay on selected twentieth century poets or influence on my own writing

Expand full comment

1. What type of writer do you want to be three years from now?

I want to be able to support myself with my writing. I want to have completed at least one novel. I want to more actively and regularly post to my blog and/or to Meidium, and have an online presence/following. I want to have written several online self-help offerings for my website around creativity.

2. What type of writing do you enjoy?

I like to write articles and long blog posts on topics related to creativity and self-empowerment.

I like to write short fiction stories

3. What type of writer do you want to be six months from now?

I want to be writing regular articles for my blog and/or Medium and making some money on Medium.

I want to continue my freelance blogging with one steady client.

I want to have created one e-book offering for my website, on the topic of creativity.

4. Based on the last question answered, choose a small goal that will act as your focus for the next six months

I want to create one e-book offering for my website, on the topic of creativity.

Outline or get a good start on my novel.

Expand full comment

1) What type of writer do you want to be three years from now?

I want to support myself with my writing. I want to have a published book, an online presence, and freelance clients.

2) What type of writing do you enjoy?

I enjoy creative non-fiction -using my own and other’s stories to connect to common themes, and giving writers take-homes. I also enjoy fiction writing, horror and sci fi but haven’t explored it much.

3) What type of writer do you want to be six months from now?

I want to have a body of work online, have an established writing routine, and a good understanding of online and traditional sources to publish my work into. I want to be making money, and regularly contacting my email list with good response numbers. I want to be getting into Amazon or other serial writing.

4) Based on the last question you answered, choose a small goal (or two) that will act as your focus for the next six months.

Establishing an outlining and writing method,

getting a regular publication and submission schedule and system.

Contact Freelance clients.

Get a regular training schedule

Expand full comment

1.)The type of Writer that I want to be is one that entertains my audience of Cancer Patients and Survivors. This isn’t a particularly difficult subject for me to write about because I am still here after two decades of Living with Cancer rather than dying from it.

I plan on publishing a book of the posts that I will Blog relating to my Blog Topic. How Humor Helps Heal the Hurts and Horrors of Living with Cancer.

My biggest fear is in not attracting an audience of subscribers to my website. I have spent countless hours putting it together. I am now having a technological expert make it perform the way that I want it, to attract subscribers. Hopefully it will be up and running next week. Sept 12th.

2.) The type of writing I enjoy are reflections on my life events. At 74 I have a multitude of subjects to draw from. I am putting some of them in a Memoir for my son. As a divorced father, I missed his growing up years and the ability to share my life stories with him.

3.)The type of writer that I want to be six months from now is better than I am now.

4.) I do write nearly everyday. My goal is to write a daily blog post on the topics that I have listed on my Blog Topics List.

Expand full comment

1. What type of writer do you want to be three years from now.

I want to be a successful writer with my books on Amazon. I want to be working on at least 2 books a year and on my way to writing even more. I want to be writing for a living. I also want to help other beginners like me to become the writers they are destined to be.

2. What type of writing do you enjoy? 

I love reading Urban Fantasy and Sci-Fi which is also the type of Genre I want to write.

3. What type of writer do you want to be six months from now? 

I want to have my first novel done and starting on my second. I want to continue learning how to improve my writing and help those like live their dreams as well.

4. Based on the last question you answered, choose a small goal (or two) that will act as your focus for the next six months. Continue learning from other authors. Work on my Plotting and working on Outlines. Also learn about Flash fiction and short stories.

Expand full comment

1.A popular authority blogger and a writer of non-fiction ebook about the rational and humanist outlook on life and self-improvement, my niche. My passion is to contribute to ridding society of religious superstitions leading to hatred and bigotry among religious communities and the massacre of innocent citizens and children in the names of God and the scripture. I aim at writing at least 250 words daily.

2. Writing and publishing blog posts.

3. I wish to be a popular and prolific blog writer and an authority in my niche by crafting two blog posts every week.

4. To gain the trust of at least 1000 readers in my blog posts and my message to them.

Expand full comment

In three years, I would like to have written at least one full length novel that is published and successful.

I enjoy several types of writing, educational, researched writing, short stories and the novel I'm currently working on

While I would like to know more about the technical styles of writing, I need to focus on writing daily, how to read with an eye for learning what I like about the material how it's been achieved.

I would like to learn the art of "showing" vs. telling" within a storyline. At the moment, that rather eludes me.

Expand full comment